Welcome.

Hi! Thanks for coming! =)

Here you’ll find random observances, links to stuff I think is interesting, images, video and machinima I’ve captured from my daily explorations into the real and the virtual.

But first, some housekeeping. If you don’t know what a blog is, read THIS. If you don’t know how to subscribe to a blog, read THIS. If you haven’t subscribed to any blogs yet, I highly recommend it. Its a great way to absorb interest-specific information from friends, family, colleagues and people who are experts in fields you are interested in. For example, if you’re really into gardening, you can subscribe to any number of blogs dedicated exclusively to covering every aspect of gardening imaginable. The best part is, you can find blogs written by people who are simply passionate about the subject they’re covering. You can focus on the ones that aren’t trying to sell you something, that are written by people who simply want to share information they’ve harvested over the years. It’s like a person-to-person newspaper, and an excellent way of gathering specific news and information you’re interested in.

I use a browser called ‘Flock‘ that enables me to see the blogs I’ve subscribed to on a window within my browser. In this window, I can see if anyone has written new content on their blog, and read each one without having to visit each blog address one at a time.

Another important characteristic of blogs is being able to ‘comment’ on a blog, and read comments other readers have made. When lots of comments start to form after a post, it becomes a ‘thread’. In this way, you can read other people’s views and opinions on the subject. Often, their comment will include a link to their own blog. By clicking on their link and subscribing to their blog, you can continue to expand the interest-specific news and information you are able to harvest.

I decided to start this blog, since I really enjoy posting to my other blog, ‘The Arch‘ – which focuses on virtual reality and architecture. Howver, I often find things I’d love to share, but doesn’t fit neatly within the concentration of that blog. This blog will enable me to share a more diverse range of topics, and more effectively characterize the subjects I’m most passionate about.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this blog, and stop back often!

Best Regards,

Jon

About this entry